22 comments on “50/366 My Favourite Spot

  1. This is just fabulous…love the isolation and really love the way the shadow enhances the stone. I want to go there!!!

  2. I am imagining how mystical this place must’ve seemed in the Bronze age as the knowledge of things was so much more limited that now. So stark and yet so beautiful.

  3. Beautiful image! Every time I look at your beautiful images from the UK (and the south in particular I want to pack my bags and move back 🙂 )

  4. I too think that it would be a wonderful site to seek one’s soul, but next time you are there please check that standing stone, it may have been re-erected in mediaeval times, but from all the archeology shows I have seen, I would have dated it from the early Bronze age or earlier. But then I have never touched it,!

    • Ron, I have done some more investigation in light of your comment and you are right. The complex in Merrivale is Bronze Age….I bow to your knowledge (never was much good at History at school) 😉

      • Sorry sport, I have just started shaking my addiction to the Time Team and Like shows, Our Inigenous peoples stayed in the stoneage and never bothered with Bronze or Iron, until we came along and broke their little paradise. I would love to visit that site.

  5. OK–ever since I was a teenagers–maybe even before–I’ve read and loved books set in the Moors. The Moors were an alien background for fantastic stories that were old and full of mystery, stories that fascinated a young girl growing up in New York City. I can’t tell you low much I am enjoying seeing those places through your lens.

  6. Beautiful. I love the way you emphasized the desolation.

    We’ve just watched the new BBC adaptation of Arthur Conan Doyle’s story The Hound of the Baskervilles which I think is set in this country. Fascinating terrain.

    • Indeed it is Julie….set in Dartmoor (or at least inspired by it)…the area of the book is around Hound Tor…I will probably post some images of this area soon 😀

Share your thoughts...Critique welcomed

