20 comments on “30/366 Panorama

  1. I can’t really add too much to what has already been said, but this pano is really fabulous. Can we all get an invitation to come spend the day on Dartmoor? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Steve. How you have the cheek to pass an award on to me, when you are shooting stuff like this, is beyond me. I’m not trying to blow smoke, but this is simply a great piece of photography. People could learn a lot from this. Especially if they view this at 1 click, then in the detailed view.

    The first click shows great leading lines from the shadow light separation in the foreground leading to the wall along the tree line to the rock sat on the outcropping on the left of the frame. Then past that to explore the left-hand side. Back along the horizon to the right of the frame. and finally back down to the centre of the frame to the shadows again.

    Then, there is the exposure. Details in the shadows and not one blown highlight. Even in the clouds on the right. Really good metering.

    Now to, that bit, lol… I’ve been there too. Kudos to you for keeping this shot up. I’d probably died in complete embarrassment. But that’s the depressive in me talking. Personally I find that by taking a sample of some cloud nearby putting it on it’s own layer. I’ll then try the spot healing brush, with ‘sample all layers’ selected. I’ll see what kind of job that does. After that, I either add a mask and blend, or say ‘clump of grass’ this! and just crop the shot to avoid any more hassle ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Love the detailed large view. It really does this shot justice.

    Thank you for sharing.

    M.

    • Many thanks Mike…I do have a better edit than this but posted the wrong one….as to the award, well you deserve it…your images do inspire me…your composition is superb and exposure spot on.

      If you ever get down this way and fancy a day on Dartmoor give me a shout.

      • That’s because I hide all the dross. I don’t do compliments well, but thank you.
        Got most of the holidays booked up so far this year. What with a long weekend in Northumberland. Santapod at Easter and some time possibly in the highlands. I’ve also got portrait and landscape workshops booked. It’s going to be a busy year.
        Maybe I could get to work on the other arf, saying we might need a few days come Sept time down Devon way.
        Whatever happens, I’ll definately give you a shot should my powers of persuasion, erm I mean cooking, come off.
        Thanks again Steve.

  3. Hi Steve,
    Awesome picture!! I’m a rock lover so this is beautiful. The one on the left looks like it has a cap on. Have a great day!

    Sherrie

  4. The anomolies of which i spoke are early attempts at Content Aware Fill….great tool but not as easy as select and fill in my experience…but I will keep playing with it…cos its great for filling out those gaps in panos

  5. I totally agree with Mike! On a smaller scale it looks like a beautiful picture. When you view the larger image, the view becomes stunning!

  6. I just noticed I loaded the wrong image….this one has some very bad cloning anomolies at the top of the image….I aint gonna repost it so please bear with the failure ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. WOW! I just opened the full size and bam, felt like I was standing there with you. That was a great experience. Amazing we can get a look at other parts of the world in such a way. Thanks!

Share your thoughts...Critique welcomed

